MY LANDLORD AND LANDLADY


MY LANDLORD AND LANDLADY

 

This last term, I do not live in the dorm. My father helped me to rent a room off campus so that he could take better care of me.

 

My father and I are not the only people who live in this house. The owners are an elderly couple. They are friendly and hospitable. When my father, who is a doctor, has to go out to work sometimes, they look after me instead. One day, after school I went back to my room as usual. I found two boiled eggs on my desk, next to which was a slip of paper. It was a note. It went, “Studying is hard; eating more eggs will make you healthier.” Suddenly a warm feeling shot through my body. It was the first time ever that I had found a feeling of family since I left my folks behind back in Fangxian.

 

For me, this house is not only a place to sleep, but also a home away from home. The landlord and landlady treat me like their granddaughter. I’m so lucky to stay in so warm a house for the remaining weeks of high school.

Leave a Reply

