COMMUNICATION IS THE BEST MEDICINE

COMMUNICATION IS THE BEST MEDICINE

Shengliver’s Note: This teen writer helps her cousin to reconnect with his mother.

 

I found a corner to read my novel after a family lunch. After a while, my cousin, an 11-year-old boy, came over and asked me to follow him. We went to the park nearby and sat down on a bench. Then our chat started.

 

He started, “An annoying woman, your aunt, read my diary last night. I am so upset.”

 

“My aunt? Your mother?” I asked?

 

“Yes, it was she,” the boy replied.

 

Both of us lapsed into a long silence. Then I asked him, “Did you tell anyone else about it?”

 

“At school I told my teacher about it. I remember that she once told us that everyone has the right to privacy. However, when I told her about my mother’s behaviour, she ignored me. Then she explained that my parents did it out of concern over me and that I should put myself in my mother’s shoes. I did not want to listen to her. She was so hypocritical.”

 

I was speechless. After a long silence, I smiled and said, “I would have hated your teacher’s words too if I were you. At least she should have been on your side on this matter.”

 

With his sparkling eyes fixed on me, he said, “I think so. I had no fault at all.”

 

“Well, you did have some faults,” I made a pause before I went on. “If I were you I would have been angrier at that moment. But I don’t think I would have blamed them. Perhaps they did that just to understand me better. Or they must have been worried that I connect less and less with them while I am growing up. Trust and love is all about two people, not one single person.”

 

We chatted on the bench until dusk was closing in. The little boy cried softly and then rushed home. I caught up with him and there saw a warm scene, where my cousin was giving my aunt a big hug. He was apologising to her.

 

Communication is the best medicine for healing the rift between you and your loved ones. By reaching out first, you will break the ice and rekindle the fire.

Leave a Reply

