MY UNCLE

MY UNCLE

Shengliver’s Note: Teen Chen Yue misses his late uncle.

 

Last night I had a dream where I met my late uncle. I can’t remember much of the dream, but it evoked my memory of the days when he was with us.

 

He passed away this summer because of cancer. When the disease was detected in him, it was already too late. He refused to go through nuclear medical treatment. He had been a doctor.

 

My uncle got retired earlier than usual because of some special policy. After retirement he was addicted to collecting antiques. All his savings were spent on his collections but he got little return on his investment.

 

The last time I met him was the beginning of the summer vacation. I saw him seated there with great difficulty in breathing. Although it was difficult for him to speak, we talked a lot. I listened to him carefully and patiently. That night I washed his feet. That was the only thing I could do for him.

 

My uncle was as stubborn as a mule when he was alive. Having been a doctor, he knew what it meant to him when his disease was diagnosed. He said that the recommended treatment would be useless, and therefore he refused to be treated. All of us knew that he would not add to his daughter’s burden.

 

I don’t think my uncle was a black sheep although most of my family members do think so. I can still remember the scene where he asked my aunt to cook me a bowl of noodles with the only eggs left in the fridge. It was his last act of kindness to me.

 

Hearing the news of his death, I cried. My 80-year-old grandfather cried all the time that day. My grandma was just as sad.

Leave a Reply

