SHOULD I HAVE A SIBLING?

SHOULD I HAVE A SIBLING?

Shengliver’s Note: The recent change in China’s family planning policy has made it possible for Chinese couples to have a second child without any more apprehension about violating the law.

 

The other day my mother asked me if wanted a brother or a sister. I remembered her asking me the same question when I was in primary school. I said no then. Now I really regret it. I could have spent a childhood with a young brother or sister. However, this time my answer to my mother’s question was still no.

 

My friend’s mother, who is a few years younger than my mother, lost her womb after she gave birth to a boy. I am worried about my mother’s health. Giving birth to a baby is too risky for a woman her age. To be honest, I don’t like kids at all. They are always annoying and crying.

 

My cousin is 20 years old and her mother, my aunt, is going to deliver a baby soon. When she heard the news, my cousin lost sleep. “You are going to be a sister,” I laughed.

Leave a Reply

