THE FIRST STEP

THE FIRST STEP

Shengliver’s Note: If you do not take the first step, you will go nowhere. Huali the girl took her first step in primary school and has never looked back ever since.

 

When I was in primary school, I was terribly shy. Addressing an audience was extremely hard for me. I thought that should I falter, I would be ashamed and that the audience would be laughing at me.

 

I still remember the first time when I read a Chinese article aloud in class. It was this opportunity that made me realise that taking the first step could not be more important. Sitting at my desk, my face tense, and my hands shaking slightly, I felt my heart beating wildly in my chest. “Just relax,” my friend whispered in my ear and gave me a big smile. “Are you ready for it?” she asked. I nodded. She was right. I should believe in myself. I could make it.

 

Of course I made it. I read the article with great fluency. When it was over, I felt satisfied with my performance.

Leave a Reply

