DEAR LUCY

DEAR LUCY

 

Dear Lucy,

pen and paper 03 

I am Shengliver. Very pleased to read your message online.

 

It is a good idea to write each other every day. Tell me a bit about yourself at a time. I am looking forward to hearing from you. But write to shengliver@163.com since both of us are in China and we both use the same email service.

 

I am amazed by your excellent English. Your pronunciation is clear and natural. You have the ability to talk around difficult words. The way you talk shows your strong interest in the language. Keep it up, girl.

 

Behind you there must be strong support from your family and teachers. From our conversations, I have learned a bit about your family. Your mum is a dentist and your dad is probably a businessman. And you and I are in the same province. You are the best kid speaker from Hubei whom I have ever talked with on the messenger. You will be somebody, girl.

 

Hope to learn more about your family.

 

Stay cool in Shashi.

 

Yours,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

Thanks for your photo. Though taken on the web cam in a digital café, it is clear enough for me to have a look at you. Actually I saw you on the cam in the chatroom before. You are cute.

 

The Internet is playing a big role in my learning and work, and I bet it is important for you as well. I was wondering how long a day you used the net for your learning or for fun. Anyway it is not a good idea to be online for a long period every day. I have to tell myself to stay away from the net sometimes.

 

What fun it is to stay in touch with your US pen pal online! And on some instant messenger you in fact can have audio or video talks with each other. You said Mathew hid some puzzles from you. Did you ever go to the USA and stay there for some time, Lucy?

 

Be happy every day.

 

Yours,

Shengliver

 

PS

If you please, read more on my English blog at https://shengliver.wordpress.com/

 

Dear Lucy,

 

Please don’t worry about your grammar. I understand everything you write to me. Do tell me more about yourself, your family, your school or your city, Shashi.

 

Best wishes,

 

Yours,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

You certainly live in a cosy home. It has a lot of modern conveniences and still you have plenty of room to play in. And when you were talking on the mike, I saw you using air conditioning in your room. Very nice.

 

Well my family live in a flat (apartment in American English). In it there are three bedrooms, a parlour, a kitchen, a bathroom and a dining space. Of course we have two balconies. We have two air conditioners in place, but we seldom use them. Summers here are rarely hot. My daughter has her own room, functioning as both her bedroom and her study. In the room she has her bookcase and her writing desk. And of course she has lots of playthings with her, dolls, cards, paper cutting and so on. She keeps some fish as her pets. She adores them.

 

Next time tell me about one of your classmates, will you?

 

Bye for now.

 

Best wishes,

 

Yours,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

You must have had a very interesting day today. Did you swim or do some other sport? Have a good rest.

 

Well, Lucy, you are learning USA English. That’s why you thought parlour is wrong while parlor is right. Actually some words are spelt differently in English English and American English. So my parlour is right and your parlor is right too. Another example is this pair – favourite and favorite.

 

I am looking forward to hearing from you about your best pal.

 

Good dream, Lucy.

 

Yours,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

You are a kind girl. Though the girl is from a poor family and she smells strong, you still invited her to your party. You were great, girl.

 

Well, please do not hate Yang Siqi. You and your best pal can still be friends with her. And you may change her attitude toward the poor girl.

 

My girl has a couple of Barbies, too. But Barbies are quite expensive, and even the garments specially designed for Barbie are dear. However, my girl sometimes made some garments by hand for her dolls. That is lovely.

 

Bye for now, Lucy.

 

Yours ever,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

I am happy that you are learning how to manage your money. Though your dolls are cheap, they are still as good as any plaything. I wonder how much your parents give you for your pocket money a week. And what use do you make of it? For snacks, dolls, or pens and pencils and paper?

 

My daughter gets four yuan a week as her allowance. Well, she snacks. She also spends money on her stationery. I believe she is learning to use her money too.

 

She loves animals very much. Last Sunday we went to a park in the city. There is a lake and a river in the park. We caught around 20 fish in the river, very little ones. She keeps them in an aquarium on the balcony. Very lovely.

 

Do you keep some pets, Lucy?

 

Yours ever,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

Sorry I did not reply to your email yesterday evening. But I am writing to you now.

 

Do you swim? My daughter has been on a swimming course for the past few days. I am a good swimmer but I have failed to be her teacher. So she has to pay for her lessons. Every morning starting at 10.10 my daughter does some swimming training with a teacher in the city swim facility. Oh, my home is next to the modern facility. Her training comes to an end at 12.00 noon. So my wife and I have to wait for her to come back before we have the meal.

 

She enjoys the lessons very much. First of all, it is hot weather so I bet staying in water and playing with her mates is great fun. Second, she has been dreaming of being able to swim since she saw me bathe some years ago. And of course she finds the teacher pretty good, though a bit tough. Some learners who misbehave are punished this way – the teacher holds them under water for some longer time. Ha-ha.

 

Well, tell me if you swim. I know in your city there are a lot of rivers and ponds and also the Yangtze River flows there.

 

Looking forward to hearing from you, Lucy.

 

Bye for now.

 

Yours ever,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

So you must be having great fun swimming a lot in your city. Do you swim in rivers, ponds, or swimming pools?

 

I learned how to swim as a teenager in the 1980s. I was a student in middle school then. I didn’t learn how to swim when I was in primary school mainly because my parents forbade me to go and try. I think they were right. At that time in my hometown every summer some children were drowned swimming. But I was allowed to play in water though in a little river. It was shallow. No risk of getting drowned in it.

 

My middle school was about 5 kilometres from my home, so I studied away from my family most of the time. I could visit my parents and my brothers every fortnight. Because I was away from my parents, in early summer, my classmates and I went to a bigger river way in front of the school to learn to swim. The river was very suitable for learning, for the water was neither too deep nor too shallow. It reached my chest in most parts of the river. What is better, the river flowed, and Lucy, you could never have imagined how clean and clear the water was then. We could see the fish swimming in it. Well, it is no longer so clear these days, I bet.

 

We went to the river usually during the lunch break. We had lunch at the school canteen, and we had almost 2 hours at our disposal before afternoon lessons. So my pals and I went to the river secretly and this way I became a good swimmer. I simply pushed myself against the gentle current and I found myself floating, staying up in the water. What a wonderful discovery! And I knew how to do it then.

 

In your next email, will you please tell me what food is your favourite? Do you like veg such as cucumbers and tomatoes? Are you picky about what you eat?

 

Happy holiday and do write back.

 

Yours,

Shengliver

 

Dear Lucy,

 

Well, you are on a balanced diet.

 

A balanced diet supplies us with all the nutrients our body needs to function well. What do our bodies need? First of all, we need carbs. To get them we have to eat rice, noodles and some vegetables like beans and potatoes. Next comes what is called proteins. Eggs and meat provide them. The third nutrient is fat. A simple English word. Lucy, you probably know meat and oil are sources of fat. But eating too much fat may cause a disease called obesity. The fourth in the list of nutrients is vitamins and minerals, actually two kinds. Can you guess how we get them? Yes, we get them by eating fruits and various vegetables. If you have oranges, you get plenty of Vitamin C. Do remember to have different fruits when they are in season and cheap. The last to come is common but too important to ignore – water. Is water a nutrient? Yes, definitely. We get water when we have a drink to quench our thirst. Of course most of what we eat contains water, too. How many glasses of water do you drink a day, Lucy?

 

You have good teeth because you do not take in too much sugar. You have to thank your mom for your perfect white teeth. A dentist certainly knows what to eat and what not to so that we can have good and strong teeth.

 

A good eater you are, Lucy. Happy eating and I am looking forward to reading about where you take a dip in summer.

 

Bye for now.

 

Yours truly,

Shengliver

Leave a Reply

