1st prize


First Prize

 

I won No. 1 in the school-level teaching contest at the end of December, 2005.

 

It all happened as follows.

 

The school faced the imminent education inspection from the Hubei Provincial Government to be awarded the title of “Hubei Provincial Model High school”. One key aspect for inspection was classroom teaching. The supervisors would attend lessons of about 80 percent of the teaching staff. They judged a lesson quite differently from the old ways. A successful class should be one in which there is good interaction between teacher and students and good interaction and cooperation between the students. The teacher must not talk too much. If the teacher gives a monologue for over half the time, the lesson will be a failure. It sounded easy, but in practice, all the teachers in China are good talking machines, spoon feeding the young minds. The principal knew the situation very well, yet he desired to get the honour for the school. Therefore, starting this term, he had started a whole-school teaching campaign. In this campaign, every teacher should give demo lessons three times. In a teaching team, all the other teachers should attend and observe the teaching teacher’s lesson. What is more, after the session, the team members were supposed to offer criticism and to try to help each other adapt the teaching style to the new demand. We went through these processes.

 

You might believe that it was a piece of cake to meet the new requirements. However, deep in the teachers’ heart they knew very well that they would have to worry about the students’ test scores in the various exams—-unit tests, monthly tests, mid-terms and finals. For all the teachers are evaluated based upon their students’ performance in those exams. With this invisible chain binding their hand and foot, it was so hard to break away from the old habits. It was so hard for the teachers to go student-centered.

 

Let’s come back to the teaching contest. After the teaching campaign, the principal ordered that a teaching contest be held in the school to give good examples to all the teaching staff of what a good lesson is in the eye of the coming supervisors. He also ordered that the contestants be the cream of each teaching team. I won all the colleagues’ admiration for my performance in the teaching campaign. Therefore, they recommended me for the coming contest. I had no alternative but to take part.

 

I hate the so-called teaching contests. First of all, many teachers do the lessons for show only. And probably some lessons are rehearsed before they are given. Second, a teacher has to face the day-to-day teaching. A teacher cannot do such a lesson on a daily basis. Therefore, I think teaching contests are meaningless rather than meaningful. They teach the students to be dishonest and insincere. I took part in the school teaching competition for the first time when I became a new teacher many years ago. This contest was my second experience.

 

Before I decided to enter my name for the contest, I consulted my students for their approval. All the students supported me, for they knew they were free to express themselves in my English lesson. They were sure OUR performance would be first rate.

 

I chose the unit about environment protection for my contest. I made the lesson ware on PowerPoint. The photos I chose for the lesson were quite effective. And the lead-in was so successful and real that the students felt that they had a long tale to tell about it.

 

I was the first to give the lesson. It was a complete success. The following points impressed the judges very much indeed. No.1, my unique laugh. I laughed so naturally and so whole-heartedly that the whole lesson was something pleasurable. No. 2, the students’ ability to talk freely. They gave meaningful and personal views on the questions I put to them. No. 3, my spoken English slaughtered them all. The listening material was rather difficult on the tape, so I altered it this way. I recorded my own voice on the computer and played it for the listening task. This surprised all present at my lesson, teachers, students and judges. My voice sounded so nice on the computer. This experience convinced me once again of the importance of a teacher’s ability to speak GOOD English.

 

All in all, the interaction was so nice throughout the lesson that I won NO. 1 in the contest.

 

Congratulations, Shengliver! Hahahahahahahahaha.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pei
    Jan 05, 2006 @ 14:43:15

    Congratulations, Shengliver!

    Reply

  2. Shengliver
    Jan 06, 2006 @ 08:55:28

    Thanks, Lake. Happy New Year.

    Reply

  3. 舟行留香
    Jan 09, 2006 @ 10:31:58

    Mr wang :you are very great!

    Reply

  4. EVA
    Jan 09, 2006 @ 15:06:21

    Congratulations, Shengliver! Hahahahahahahahaha.

    Reply

  5. Unknown
    Jan 11, 2006 @ 12:19:30

    Congratulations,but I am not surprised because you are always so excellent.By the way,when will the winter vocation of yyhs start?

    Reply

  6. Shengliver
    Jan 12, 2006 @ 04:10:24

    Thanks, Li, Lala, and Summer.

    Reply

  7. Susan
    Jan 13, 2006 @ 07:12:33

    Dear sirThanks your blog here, I was moved by your letter issued here to your friend . We have chatted once before in uc, but never see you there again later. you do gave me deep impression, moved by your attitude for life, as matter of fact ,seldom people can analyse the problem they met on the way of life well by positive thinking .Including me, often puzzled by sth in mind.You did good job, point out your viewpoint correctly. that all of friends who visiting your blog are all attactted by your wisdom and erudition. same for me.Comunicating is a good way to find one’s shortcoming. So hope will talk with you soon in English public room in UC or though email.From the point of view of our Weltanschauung.Yours sincerelySusan

    Reply

  8. Shengliver
    Jan 13, 2006 @ 09:55:08

    Dear Susan,My heart-felt thanks to you for your comment on my blog. What pleasure would equal that of finding a sympathetic ear? Looking forward to meeting you in UC English Chatrooms.See you there.Yours,Shengliver

    Reply

Leave a Reply

