the art of living

A story has been circulating in the Chinese media for a long time. It is about an American vet, yet I haven’t been able to locate the original. Here is what I have translated from the Chinese version. If any friend happens to have the original, please post it here on my blog. I would be grateful.
 

Learn from Animals

 

Molly, a vet from New Jersey, USA, advises we should learn from animals. She takes the following creatures as examples.

 

Dogs

Whatever pain they have gone through, they are able to shake it off soon. They are able to enjoy to the full whatever joy they have, either munching a bone available or running gaily in a park.

 

Cats

Nothing ever worries them. Should any anxiety come to their mind, they would sleep it off.

 

Birds

They know how to enjoy life. Even the busiest bird finds time to perch on a branch, singing. You might believe that it is singing a love song, but I believe most times it is singing for the sheer joy of living.

 

Molly says, all creatures, be they domesticated cats and dogs or lions on the prairie, share the following characteristics—-plenty of sleep, moderate eating, daily movement and no regretting of yesterday and no worrying about tomorrow.

 

Animals’ lifestyle, simple and natural, is in fact the code to good health and longevity, which we humans have long been craving for. Some guys still do not realize this even at the end of their lives. Smartest among all creatures under the sun as we are, we should turn to animals for the art of living.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 穿梭
    Oct 03, 2005 @ 10:27:50

    life is easylife is hardlife is wonderfulthough sometimes along with sad thingsanimals may enjoy theirs

    Reply

  2. Shengliver
    Oct 03, 2005 @ 12:22:38

    Thank you, dear friend. Your coming to my blog is a BIG surprise to me. Welcome back and offer your opinions and criticisms.

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Oct 04, 2005 @ 11:19:36

    My dear teacher.I’m your students wang xueping.^_____^Never mind whether you remember me or not.We have no commuication since I graduated in 2003,but we are always talking about you when we’re toghter.We have a deep impression on you.There is no surprising we have such an agreement that most of our love of English resulted from the influence of you.My dear friend,I’d like to come here regularly,and keep touch with you.Wish you a great holiday,and happy everyday^0^Yours Xueping

    Reply

  4. Shengliver
    Oct 04, 2005 @ 13:40:25

    Dear Wang Xueping,It is a BIG day for me today. My tears should be able to tell you how I feel. Good luck, and welcome back.Shengliver

    Reply

  5. Chris
    Oct 05, 2005 @ 07:38:04

    Dear friend,here I am again.HEHE~I have a problem,and I wonder if you kown what to do.How did you kown I created a link to your blog?I was told here http://www.technorati.com/ provide the tool.But I still have no idear what to do.Woud you help me?By the way resently I am enjoying an America scene comic named Friends.And now it’s the sencond time I "laughting with the Friends".I think that’s a good way to prove spoken English,especially using English caption.:)

    Reply

  6. Shengliver
    Oct 05, 2005 @ 10:57:45

    Nice to see you back, Wang.On my MSN blog I can find out who has visited me and when he did. Please check out a button called "SET(设置)", and then you know what to do. That is how I found out your blog and on your blog I saw the link to my blog."Friends" is very suitable for improving one’s listening and speaking. The best about it is that the series are very funny. You simply couldn’t help laughing. However, I didn’t watch much of the series. Enjoy them if you like them.See you.

    Reply


  7. Oct 05, 2005 @ 16:08:02

    Tonight l saw a flim named THE MARCH OF PENGUINS which tells a story about penguin`s life. Very touch and moving.The little life is so fragile and velerable to the nature while so brave and strong to strive to live. A good lesson for human beings who are dominant on the earth!

    Reply

  8. Unknown
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 09:40:47

    buddy, they ‘r heartless and souless ,so each of them can lead a carefree life , but we each is gifted with a more complicated brain ,so inevitably there ‘ll be more troublesome things for us to care about , great power is combined with great responsibility ,accompanied with great trouble

    Reply

  9. Shengliver
    Oct 11, 2005 @ 12:48:20

    Nice to see you here, Breeze.I agree with you. Humans suffer more than animals simply because we are gifted with mental powers. Mental powers distinguish us from animals though animals and we share a lot. We still have to learn from them, for they embody the spirit of life. We can be tortured not only by physical problems but by our endless desires.

    Reply

  10. Unknown
    Oct 31, 2006 @ 11:36:40

    Anna
    A simple life means happiness. A number of us human beings are so greedy longing to get all when we survive (Hehe). Desire is the source of bitterness. Even though we grasp everything brilliant, we’ll have to lose it eventually. So in order to live a happy life, we ought to learn from those animals.
    E-mail: Hubei-Anna @hotmail.com
     

    Reply

Leave a Reply

